I turned 28 yesterday.

Is it weird to say that 28 just feels right?  More so than 27.  At least, that’s the feeling I got yesterday as well as this morning.  Perhaps it’s because of the Work I’ve been doing, that things are either falling more into place or clearing out so I can start anew.  I have this overall feeling of renewal, and it’s wonderful.

28.  The year of my Saturn Return. A new year.  New beginnings.  Do-overs.

Last night, after being treated to dinner at Santora’s by my love and then getting cuddly and watching Princess Mononke for the first time in years, I decided to do a little birthday magick.  I hadn’t really planned anything ahead of time, so on the fly I called to my Allies within my Temple space and asked for guidance and wisdom to reflect on during the year: what would best help me on my path to healing, path to betterment, path of service?  I’ve been using and connecting more with the Animal Medicine cards that Sami gave me at Yule, so it was from that deck that I shuffled and pulled my first guidance card.

Animal Medicine Jaguar
Jaguar: integrity, impeccability, compassion.

I couldn’t help but chuckle a little, as these are traits that I have been actively working on incorporating into my life more.  Being very cat-like in nature myself, this card also told me to continue to re-integrate my feline energy, my Kitty, into my life in a positive, playful way.  Jaguar is now my totem for my 28th year.

The second card I drew was from my current favorite tarot deck, the Shadowscapes Tarot by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law.

8 of Pentacles

8 of Pentacles: patience, learning, knowledge, building, seeking understanding, interconnectedness.

I saw this and, again, couldn’t help but smile; I had been visited by Spider recently, in a very physical way, having received a spider bite on my lateral left clavicle while I was sleeping last week Sunday.  I noticed it after my shower and consulted with Phoenix-Fox.  The message?  Keep an eye on my internal world, as my thoughts were projecting and manifesting into my outer world quite rapidly.

Jaguar and Spider.  A totem and a messenger from the Goddess who is, perhaps, a second totem for the year.

Happy birthday to me.  =)

Brightest and Darkest Blessings.

